October 20, 2012


Feature by Anoop  Kamath

The Škoda Prize, one of the most influential platforms for Indian contemporary art, announced its long list of artists for the third edition of the prize. The top-20 artists have been selected by the jury panel, which includes Anupam Poddar, co-founder of the Devi Art Foundation, and leading Indian artist Sheela Gowda.The jury is being chaired by eminent Indian art historian and critic Geeta Kapur.

This year the Škoda Prize has attracted a large and diverse pool of applications, artists from across the country applied for the prize. The Top-20 artists selected for the third edition of the Škoda Prize include artists from regions /cities including: New Delhi/NCR, Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata, Baroda, Karnataka and Pune.

The shortlisted artists includes Aditi Joshi, Adip Dutta, Aditi Avinash Kulkarni, CAMP (Ashok Sukumaran & Shaina Anand), Hema Upadhyay, Jagannath Panda, L.N. Tallur, Manmeet Devgun, Mariam Suhail, Praneet Soi, Priyanka Choudhary, Rohini Devasher, Sharmila Samant, Shilpa Gupta, Srinivasa Prasad ,T Venkanna, Tushar Joag, Vishal Dar, Yardena Kurulkar and Zakkir Hussain.

L.N. Tallur has featured on the top three Škoda Prize short list and Vishal Dar, Jagannath Panda, Srinivasa Prasad and T. Venkanna have featured on the top 20 long list in previous years. Roughly half the shortlisted artists are women, outnumbering male artists for the first time, while CAMP is the only collaboration part of the Škoda Prize this year.

The top 20 artists have been selected on the basis of solo shows held in India over the past year. Solo shows for the top 20 included shows held in New Delhi/NCR, Mumbai, Bangalore and Kolkata. The work reflects the depth and diversity of contemporary art practices in India and includes installations some of which are site specific, prints, paintings, drawings, photo collages, video installations as well as performance art. 

The emerging artists from this year’s top-20 include Rohini Devasher (created video installations for the show ‘Permutation’ at Nature Morte, New Delhi), Mariam Suhail (created installations for the show ‘Breakdown of shorter concerns’ at Gallery SKE, Bengaluru. Mariam Suhail is a Pakistani citizen resident in India and qualified under the new rules which allow all those domiciled in India to apply for The Skoda Prize), Aditi Joshi (made an installation for the show ‘New Works’ at Gallery Maskara, Mumbai), Priyanka Choudhary  (created an installation for the show ‘Tetanus Midas’ at Gallery Maskara), Yardena Kurulkar (displayed an installation at the show ‘Transience’ at Gallery BMB, Mumbai) and Aditi Avinash Kulkarni (created an installation for the show ‘Alienation of the Space’ at Seven Art Ltd., New Delhi).

The Škoda Prize offers an unparalleled opportunity for mid-career artists across India to showcase their work amongst the country’s leading artists, to a discerning art audience both within India and internationally. The top-20 artists will showcase their artworks at the hugely successful top 20 exhibition, which receives thousands of visitors every year, showcases the most exciting trends in contemporary art practices in India and is representative of a diverse spectrum of established and emerging artists from across the country. The top 20 exhibition which is curated by Girish Shahane will open alongside the India Art Fair in New Delhi in February 2013. The top 20 long listed artists will also get an opportunity to be represented in the annual ŠKODA Prize book.

Aditi-Kulkarni, Alienation of Space, Installation View